#Edublogs Club Week 7: A Listicle — Top 5 Things I Learned at TCEA

 

A Listicle…I really like that word. I didn’t realize all those blog posts and articles I’ve enjoyed had a specific name! And it’s such a coincidence that I had just recently created a listicle-ish after returning from TCEA (Texas Computer Education Association) in Austin, TX. I was inspired by a librarian I follow on Twitter (@richellereads) who created a Top 5 Smore and I wanted to do the same. Sadly, the title of my Smore was cut off because of it’s size and what my blog page allows…please overlook that. If you’d prefer to look at it in its original format, check it out here.

I do wonder why we are somehow wired to enjoy listicles. Maybe it’s because we know what we’re getting into. If you tell me you have compiled a list of the ten best Ryan Gosling ‘Hey Girl’ memes, I know what I’m going to be reading about and I also know what my time commitment will be. Also, I would read that! Maybe that’s comforting somehow.

I chose to share my TCEA Takeaways with my staff and upper administration because I went to the conference intent on bringing things back to share. One of the greatest parts of education is sharing with others and having them share with you! I have been lucky enough in my career to have learned from some incredible educators thanks to their willingness to share. I could have created a Top 20+ list for sure..it was a fantastic conference. But for the sake of time and attention, I chose to keep it to five items to make the most of the time I have to share with busy teachers. And I have the rest of the year to share more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *